Crashes

josh.e.knight

So, it looks like we're yet to have a thread talking about the thing none of us want to have happen or hear about... Maybe because I'm going to be the first one to be stupid enough to have to post this!

So - first crash today on my brand new MT07 ABS. I've been riding around on a Yamaha Custom 125 for a little while, feel very comfortable and happy on that. Learnt through my MOD 1 and MOD 2 on a Suzuki Gladius (SFV650), nice and happy and confident on that too. I'm a relatively cautious driver and rider (the kind who hits 71 on the motorway and thinks "Woohoo, I'm a criminal.. seventy ONE!") - always nice and steady and smooth.

Rolled out of the dealers, following a friend back home (them in a car) through some unfamiliar roads around Swindon. From first sitting on the bike, I fell in love with it - so comfortable, smooth, easy to ride... just such an absolutely lovely bike. About ten minutes later, I was navigating across the roundabout that forms Junction 15 of the M4, nice slow speed (lots of traffic so must have been doing around 5mph).

Things started to clear up, so shifted up to 2nd gear, and so very slightly let the clutch out a little too quickly. Before I knew it, the front end of the bike was in the air. Never having had to deal with an unintended Wheelie, I panicked and must have grabbed the throttle a little bit - and the bike literally flips out from under me.

Emergency Recovery (eventually) got there, discovered it was leaking coolant from the radiator and the manifold leading in to the engine, the clutch cover had been cracked, the brake pedal and foot peg on the right side were bent, the exhaust is dented, and the entire rear (both the arm for the numberplate and the plastic fairing under the seat) was totally wrecked.