Gps

CVSensei

I'm sure there's all sorts of recommendations to be found in the deep, dark depths of the forum but I was just wondering if anyone could recommend a good GPS that's not going to bankrupt me and can be fitted by a complete novice.

addy

It really depends what budget you have. Cheapest option if you have a smart phone is yo use the in built gps and wire in a usb port to charge your phone. This is a secure mount you could use along with the bar u mount or mirror mount. X-GRIP PHONE HOLDER MEDIUM: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

Dedicated motorcycle gps seem to be around the £280-300 mark and I cant comment about TomTom but my Garmin zumo 390 was really easy to wire in plus it comes with a ram mount in the box.

Ralph

I use this a Garmin Nuvi 52 £70 from Argos bike mount was £5 on Evil Bay lifetime map update
5 inch touch screen that works with gloves it does not have all the bells n whistles some have but
is cheap enough to lose if things go wrong, only thing I would like is to be able to set more than one
way point but it does not bother me that much.

CVSensei

That sounds ideal Ralph, I presume it's waterproof? Is it relatively simple to hook up for someone with minimal technical expertise? I'd be happy to invest in something swanky later on but at the moment I just want something that will get me from A to B.

CVSensei

I was originally thinking about going down the smartphone route but I don't have a great deal of data on my contract so i'd rather not have to pay out fortunes using google maps :p

Ralph

I doubt it being water proof but it does not get wet on my bike due to the screen and
slipping a plastic bag over it would keep it dry if needed, mine is wired through the cheep'o
box in the top pic over the speed'o it as 3 cig lighter and 2 usb connections that box is wired to the
accessory plug under the left side of the tank and so come on with the ignition.

Gee